Counseling before abortion

Pregnancy is not always desired. An unwanted pregnancy is a great burden for every woman and the decision for or against an abortion is difficult. We are aware of the special situation of the women concerned and would like to provide them with comprehensive information and medical support.

If you are pregnant and considering an abortion, we recommend that you first talk to a state-approved counseling center. There you will receive professional help with your decision - and in the case of an abortion also the consultation certificate. You must present this to the practice that performs the abortion. An abortion is possible at the earliest three days after the consultation.

In Stuttgart, you can contact the following counseling centers.

Municipal advice center

pro familia 

donum vitae

Evangelical society

Explanatory video about the process of the consultation:

Counseling before abortion

Drug abortion with Mifegyne

Medicinal abortion with Mifegyne® is an alternative to the surgical procedures. The drug Mifegyne® blocks the action of the corpus luteum hormone (progesterone), preventing the pregnancy from progressing. After taking Mifegyne®, an additional prostaglandin (a hormone-like messenger) is administered 36 - 48 hours later, which triggers bleeding and expulsion of the fruit.

In exceptional cases, the pregnancy tissue is not completely expelled, so that a surgical curettage (post curettage). is necessary.

Compared to the surgical procedure, the medical abortion is physically gentler. However, the psychological strain can be greater due to the conscious experience of the miscarriage. The discussion at the counseling center can also help you decide between the two procedures.

Appointment and procedure

In our practice, we perform medical abortions up to the 49th day after the beginning of the last menstrual period - which corresponds to the 7th week of pregnancy. (If necessary, it is also possible Surgical abortion up to the 12th SSW is possible).

If you would like to make an appointment, you can call us at: 0711-907 13 907 or send us a Message letter. We will then call you back.

To make an appointment, it is not necessary that the pregnancy has already been diagnosed by a doctor. A referral from your gynecological practice is also not required.

Two medical appointments are made for the medication abortion.

At the 1st appointment, the examination, determination of pregnancy by ultrasound and the explanatory talk take place. Mifegyne@ is taken in the presence of the doctor. The prostaglandin is usually given to you so that you can take it at home two days later. You will receive a detailed written schedule and, if you wish, a sick note.

At the 2nd appointment about 2-3 weeks later, ultrasound is used to check whether the pregnancy tissue has been completely expelled.

What do you need to bring to your appointment?

  • Your insurance card
  • written certificate from the counseling center
  • If applicable, assumption of costs by the health insurance company
  • written certificate about your blood group (a blood group quick test is possible in our practice as a self-pay service)
  • If applicable, declaration of consent of the legal guardians

Detailed information in our flyer (German and English) for download:

Drug abortion

Medical pregnancy termination

Beratung vor einem Schwangerschaftsabbruch

Nicht immer ist eine Schwangerschaft erwünscht. Eine ungewollte Schwangerschaft stellt für jede Frau eine große Belastung dar und die Entscheidung für oder gegen einen Abbruch ist schwer. Wir sind uns der besonderen Situation der betroffenen Frauen bewusst und möchten sie umfassend informieren und ärztlich begleiten.

Sollten Sie schwanger sein und einen Abbruch in Erwägung ziehen, empfehlen wir Ihnen als Erstes ein Gespräch bei einer staatlich anerkannten Beratungsstelle. Sie erhalten dort professionelle Hilfe bei Ihrer Entscheidung – und im Falle eines Abbruchs auch den Beratungsschein. Diesen müssen Sie in der Praxis, die den Abbruch vornimmt, vorlegen. Ein Schwangerschaftsabbruch ist frühestens drei Tage nach der Beratung möglich.

In Stuttgart können Sie sich an folgende Beratungsstellen wenden.

Städtische Beratungsstelle

pro familia 

donum vitae

Evangelische Gesellschaft

Erklärvideo zum Ablauf der Beratung:

Beratung vor dem Schwangerschaftsabbruch

Medikamentöser Schwangerschaftsabbruch mit Mifegyne

Der medikamentöse Abbruch mit Mifegyne® ist eine Alternative zum chirurgischen Verfahren. Das Medikament Mifegyne® blockiert die Wirkung des Gelbkörperhormons (Progesteron) und verhindert so die Weiterentwicklung der Schwangerschaft. Nach der Einnahme von Mifegyne® wird 36 – 48 Stunden später zusätzlich ein Prostaglandin (ein hormonähnlicher Botenstoff) verabreicht, der Blutungen und die Ausstoßung der Frucht auslöst.

In Ausnahmefällen wird das Schwangerschaftsgewebe nicht vollständig ausgestoßen, so dass eine chirurgische Ausschabung (Nachkürettage) notwendig ist.

Der medikamentöse Abbruch ist verglichen mit dem operativen Verfahren körperlich schonender. Die seelische Belastung kann jedoch durch das bewusste Erleben der Fehlgeburt größer sein. Auch bei der Entscheidung zwischen den beiden Verfahren kann Ihnen das Gespräch bei der Beratungsstelle eine Hilfe sein.

Terminvereinbarung und Ablauf

In unserer Praxis führen wir medikamentöse Abbrüche bis zum 49. Tag nach Beginn der letzten Monatsblutung durch – das entspricht der 7. Schwangerschaftswoche. (Ggf. ist auch ein chirurgischer Abbruch bis zur 12. SSW möglich.)

Wenn Sie einen Termin vereinbaren möchten, können Sie sich telefonisch melden unter: 0711-907 13 907 oder uns eine Nachricht schreiben. Wir rufen Sie dann zurück.

Für die Terminvereinbarung ist es nicht notwendig, dass die Schwangerschaft bereits ärztlich diagnostiziert wurde. Auch eine Überweisung Ihrer gynäkologischen Praxis ist nicht erforderlich.

Für den medikamentösen Abbruch werden zwei Arzttermine vereinbart.

Beim 1. Termin findet die Untersuchung, Feststellung der Schwangerschaft per Ultraschall und das Aufklärungsgespräch statt. Die Einnahme der Mifegyne@ erfolgt im Beisein der Ärztin. Das Prostaglandin wird Ihnen in der Regel mitgegeben, so dass Sie es zwei Tage später zuhause einnehmen könne. Sie erhalten einen genauen schriftlichen Ablaufplan, wenn Sie es wünschen auch eine Krankschreibung.

Beim 2. Termin ca. 2-3 Wochen später wird per Ultraschall kontrolliert, ob das Schwangerschaftsgewebe vollständig ausgestoßen wurde.

Was müssen Sie zu Ihrem Termin mitbringen?

  • Ihre Versichertenkarte
  • schriftliche Bescheinigung der Beratungsstelle
  • ggf. Kostenübernahme der Krankenkasse
  • schriftliche Bescheinigung über Ihre Blutgruppe (ein Blutgruppen-Schnelltest ist bei uns in der Praxis als Selbstzahlerleistung möglich)
  • ggf. Einverständniserklärung der Erziehungsberechtigten

Ausführliche Informationen in unserem Flyer (deutsch und englisch) zum Download:

Medikamentöser Schwangerschaftsabbruch

Medical pregnancy termination